Chair of Governors November 2019 - Paul Riordan email

The Governing Body works in partnership with the Headteacher and staff to ensure that the delivery of the curriculum, the use of public resources and the effectiveness of teaching and learning are of the highest possible standard.

The Governors of Rainow School are responsible for the strategic leadership of the school but are not involved in its day-to-day operation.

The Governing Body:

  • agrees the school budget, prioritises spending and approves staffing levels;
  • monitors the standards of achievement;
  • ensures delivery of the curriculum;
  • provides a parental voice;
  • oversees the maintenance of the school premises;
  • formulates school policies;
  • appoints the Headteacher and supports in the appointment of other staff;
  • acts as the school's 'critical friend', providing both support and challenge.

All Governors are volunteers and there is no payment for the role.


Please click here to read committee meeting minutes


Governing Body Membership as at 16/1/2020

Category of Governor Governors' Names          Term of office              Appointing body
Chair Paul Riordan 13/11/18 - 12/11/22 co-opted
Staff (Head) Jonathan Norris 01 September 2016  
Staff Nicola Daley 6-Mar-2017 - 5 Mar-2021 Elected by staff
Parent Kathy Lewis 29-Nov-2019 to 29-Nov-2023 Elected by Parents
Parent Laura Saunders 29-Nov-2019 to 29-Nov-2023 Elected by parents
Local Authority Julien Rye 25 Jul 2017- 24 July 2021 Appointed by local authority
Co-opted Florence Pope 1 Sept 2016 - 31 Aug 2020 Appointed by the GB
Parent Peter Grogan 13 Nov 2018 - 12 Nov 2022 Elected by the parents
Parent Dean Grice 13 Nov 2018 - 12 Nov 2022 Elected by the parents
Co-opted Richard Buckley 28/11/19 - 26/9/21 Appointed by the GB
Associate Governor Helen Pugh 19 Mar 2019 - 18 Mar 2023 Appointed by the GB
Co-opted Suzanne Tobin 19 Mar 2019 - 18 Mar 2023 Co-opted
Co-opted Richard Stockwell 18 Sept 2019 - 13 Oct 2023 Appointed by the GB



Governing Body Committee Structure, 2019-20


                                     Governing Body Chair: Paul Riordan     

Buildings & Premises Committee Teaching & Learning Committee Finance Comittee Headteacher's Performance Management Committee Pay Committee Appeals

1.Peter Grogan (Chair)

1.Paul Riordan (Chair) 1. Julien Rye (Chair) 1. TBC (Chair) 1.Helen Pugh (Chair) 1. Julien Rye
2. Dean Grice 2.  Nicola Daley 2. Jonathan Norris 2. Paul Riordan 2. Richard Stockwell 2. Paul Riordan
4. Jonathan Norris 3. Richard Buckley 3. Richard Stockwell 3. Richard Buckley 3. Dean Grice  
  4. Jonathan Norris 4. Peter Grogan   4. Jonathan Norris  
  5.Florence Pope        


  7. Richard Stockwell        


8. Peter Grogan    


  9. Dean Grice        
  10. Helen Pugh        
  11. Suzanne Tobin     Pay Appeals (3):  
  12. Kathy Lewis        
  13. Laura Saunders        
Suggested roles to be on committee: Suggested roles to be on committee: Suggested roles to be on committee: Suggested roles to be on committee: Suggested roles to be on committee:  
  • Staff (Head)
  • Staff (Head); Staff; GB Chair; GB Vice Chair
  • Staff (Head)
  • GB (Chair)
  • Staff are unable to be on this committee
  • GB (Chair); Individual from Finance Committee
  • Staff are unable to be on this committee

Meeting Frequency:

Twice yearly (& as required)

Meeting Frequency:

Once per term (& as required)

Meeting Frequency:

Once per term (& as required)

Meeting Frequency:

Six monthly (& as required)

Meeting Frequency:

Twice yearly (& as required)


Additional notes: All above committees have a quorum of 3.  Full Governing Body (FGB) meetings to be held three times per year; & End of Year Review meeting.

Ad hoc committees to be constituted as and when required e.g. Pupil Discipline, Staff Disciplinary/Disimissal; Pay Appeals; Recruitment etc.

Training Liaision Governor:




Name of Governor Relevant Business Interest Any other Educational Establishments Governed Relationships with the school staff, including partners, spouses and relatives

Richard Buckley

Parent Governor

Start date: 27 Sept 2017
  Nil Nil

Nicola Daley

Staff Governor

Start date: 6th March 2017

Teacher at Rainow Primary School.  Nil Husband is Headteacher at St Gregory's RC, Bollington

Jonathan Norris

Staff Governor

Start date: 01 Sept 2016

Headteacher at Rainow Primary School, friend of owner of Virtu Design (Interior Design company), son of David Norris Associates (Building, Surveyor, Design)    

Florence Pope

Co-opted Governor

Start date 01 September 2016

Teacher at Tytherington High School    

Julien Rye

LA Governor

Start date 25 Jul 2017
Partner at BDO LLP Nil Nil

Richard Stockwell

Parent Governor

Start date: 19 Sep 2015


Nil Nil

Dean Grice

Parent Governor

Start date: 13 Nov 2018

NHS Eastern Cheshire CCG Nil Nil

Peter Grogan

Parent Governor

Start date: 13 Nov 2018

  Nil Nil

Paul Riordan

Parent Governor

Start date 13 Nov 2018

None Principal of Wilmslow Guild Adult Education Centre Nil

Helen Pugh

Associate Governor

Start date 19 Mar 2019


Suzanne Tobin


Start date 19 Mar 2019




Files to Download

Other pages